Skip to content

National Status for SA GT

20 October 2021

MEDIA RELEASE: for immediate release

South African GT Racing Association granted National Championship status for 2022

  • Motorsport SA awards SAGTRA National Championship status after successful season
  • SAGTRA successfully completed 10 of 12 rounds this year
  • Championship finale goes to the wire at Kyalami 9-Hour in December

Johannesburg – The South African GT Racing Association (SAGTRA) is heading to a thrilling finale at the Kyalami 9-Hour, capping a successful inaugural season of GT3 racing across the country.

In recognition of the significant achievement by SAGTRA, which has seen 16 drivers competing in FIA-homologated GT3 class racing supercars, Motorsport South Africa has granted the championship National Championship status for the 2022 season. “It’s a testament of our combined hard work and dedication to make this series the premier category in Southern Africa” chairman of SAGTRA Izak Spies elaborated.

SAGTRA CEO Wayne Riddell said:”This is a significant achievement for GT3 racing in South Africa and the culmination of a massive amount of work by the shareholders and directors of SAGTRA, as well as a vote of confidence by Motorsport South Africa.

Unlike most new motorsport series, we chose to fly below the radar this year as we refined our technical rules and honed our entertainment package ahead of the new season.

We are ready to launch our 2022 championship and more details will be announced in the run-up to the Kyalami 9-Hour, including our association with SRO, the leading global promoter of GT3 racing and its South African representatives”.

SAGTRA was formed by a group of heavily invested gentlemen racers with a passion for racing, who own cars that are designed and built to race in four-hour endurance racing; neither driver nor machines were challenged by the short sprint races available in the local racing calendar.

A Balance of Performance formula has been tried, tested and successfully implemented, creating a level playing field for its competing board members. As Izak Spies pointed out “it’s all down to the driver”.

Currently, purpose-built GT3 racing cars from Lamborghini, McLaren, Porsche, Audi, Ferrari, Aston Martin and Bentley compete in the SAGTRA Championship, with the promise of even more manufacturers joining next year.

Issued by Eric Buijs (Media Manager SAES)
+27 82 66 246 10

Download PDF

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *